• One Book One Brampton 2019
    One Book One Brampton 2019

    The Saturday Night Ghost Club by Craig Davidson

     

    This short, infectious, and bittersweet coming-of-age story in the vein of Stranger Things and Stand by Me about a group of misfit kids who spend an unforgettable summer investigating local ghost stories and urban legends was a finalist for the 2018 Rogers Writers' Trust Fiction Prize.

    When neurosurgeon Jake Baker operates, he knows he's handling more than a patient's delicate brain tissue--he's altering the seat of consciousness, the golden vault of memory. And memory, Jake knows well, can be a tricky, quicksilver thing. Growing up in 1980s Niagara Falls, a.k.a. Cataract City---a seedy but magical, slightly haunted place---one of Jake's closest confidants was his uncle Calvin, a sweet but eccentric misfit enamored of occult artefacts and outlandish conspiracy theories. The summer Jake turned twelve, Calvin invited him to join the "Saturday Night Ghost Club"--a seemingly light-hearted project to investigate some of Cataract City's more macabre urban myths. Over the course of that life-altering summer, Jake not only met his lifelong best friend and began to imagine his own future, he came to realize that his uncle's preoccupation with chilling legends sprang from something so painful, and buried so deep, that Calvin himself was unaware of the source.

    All Things Consoled by Elizabeth Hay

     

    Jean and Gordon Hay were a colourful, formidable pair. Jean, a late-blooming artist with a marvellous sense of humour, was superlatively frugal; nothing got wasted, not even maggoty soup. Gordon was a proud and ambitious schoolteacher with a terrifying temper, a deep streak of melancholy, and a devotion to flowers, cars, words, and his wife. As old age collides with the tragedy of living too long, these once ferociously independent parents become increasingly dependent on Lizzie, the so-called difficult child. By looking after them in their final decline, she hopes to prove that she can be a good daughter after all.

    In this courageous memoir, written with tough-minded candour, tenderness, and wit, Elizabeth Hay lays bare the exquisite agony of a family's dynamics--entrenched favouritism, sibling rivalries, grievances that last for decades, genuine admiration, and enduring love. In the end, she reaches a more complete understanding of the most unforgettable characters she will ever know, the vivid giants in her life who were her parents."

    That Time I Loved You: Linked Storied

    by Carrianne Leung
     

    Tensions that have lurked beneath the surface of a shiny new subdivision rise up, in new fiction from the author of the Toronto Book Award—shortlisted The Wondrous Woo.


    The suburbs of the 1970s promised to be heaven on earth—new houses, new status, happiness guaranteed. But in a Scarborough subdivision populated by newcomers from all over the world, a series of sudden catastrophic events reveals that not everyone’s dreams come true. Moving from house to house, Carrianne Leung explores the inner lives behind the tidy front gardens and picture-perfect windows, always returning to June, an irrepressible adolescent Chinese-Canadian coming of age in this shifting world. Through June and her neighbours, Leung depicts the fine line where childhood meets the realities of adult life, and examines, with insight and sharp prose, how difficult it is to be true to ourselves at any age.

    Hum If You Don't Know The Words by Bianca Marais

     

    Hum If You Don't Know the Words is a heart-wrenching debut novel set in Johannesburg in the 1970s, a time of great upheaval and violence. It features a young white girl, Robin, whose parents have been killed, and a visiting Xhosa woman, Beauty, searching for her own daughter, who has disappeared in the Soweto uprisings. When Beauty is hired as a caretaker for Robin, they build a tentative bond despite the restrictions of apartheid.


    Told through Beauty and Robin's alternating perspectives, the two narratives interweave to create a rich and complex tapestry of emotions and tensions at the heart of Apartheid South Africa. This book is a beautifully rendered look at loss, racism, and the creation of family.  

    A Good Wife by Samra Zafar

     

    In A Good Wife Author Samra Zafar tells her own harrowing and inspiring story, from a young girl with big dreams, through finding strength in the face of oppression and then finally battling through to empowerment. She faced years of abuse after arriving in Canada as a teenage bride in a hastily arranged marriage, but nothing could stop her from pursuing her dreams

    At 15, Samra Zafar had big dreams for herself. She was going to go to university, and forge her own path. Then with almost no warning, those dreams were pulled away from her when she was suddenly married to a stranger at 17 and had to leave behind her family in Pakistan to move to Canada. Her new husband and his family promised the fulfillment of her dream, not a betrayal of it. But as the walls of their home slowly became a prison, Samra realized the promises were empty ones.

    Cast your vote below!

  • Summer Reading 2019
    Summer Reading 2019
  • Brampton Library Community Galleries
    Brampton Library Community Galleries

    Brampton Library Community Galleries

    Brampton Library provides exhibit space to individuals or groups wishing to display works of art. This free exhibit space enables Library visitors to participate in the creative life of the community, and presents artists with a valued avenue for exhibiting their work.

    Interested in displaying your artwork at the library? Please review Brampton Library’s Policy on Displays and Exhibits and familiarize yourself with the Artist Release and Waiver Liability, as well as the Community Galleries FAQ.

    To submit your artwork, please complete the application form.

    For more information please contact Catherine Carreiro (ext. 74220) or Surita Dey (ext 74354) at (905) 793-4636 or email ccarreiro@bramlib.on.ca or sdey@bramlib.on.ca

Alert Icon
Air conditioning at our Four Corners Branch will not be functioning Monday, August 19 - Friday, August 23 due to scheduled maintenance. We apologize for the inconvenience. 

What is the goal of Brampton Library Community Galleries?🔽

Brampton Library provides occasional exhibit space to individuals or groups wishing to display hanging works of art. This free exhibit space enables Library visitors to participate in the creative life of the community, and presents artists with a valued avenue for exhibiting their work.

Who can apply?🔽

Exhibits from Brampton and area artists and groups are preferred but others will also be considered in the application process.

How can I apply? 🔽

Artists are asked to fill out the Community Galleries Application Form and include a description of the exhibit, an artist biography and sample images of your work. Please select your preferred branch. You will be contacted about your submission.

What are the artist’s responsibilities? 🔽

The Library does not pay exhibit fees. Exhibitors are responsible for obtaining their own damage insurance for the contents of their exhibit.

The artist must sign the Release and Waiver of Liability form.

The artist is responsible for the installation and deinstallation of the artwork at their own risk and expense.

Artwork must remain up for the entirety of the exhibition.

What criteria are used for selecting exhibits?🔽

Exhibited materials should be indicative of Brampton Library’s mission and values as well as the diverse interests of the community and should be suitable for showing in a public library (i.e. extremely erotic or gratuitously violent, overtly political or sensitive are not acceptable)  keeping in mind that the library is a public place and that those visiting are not necessarily aware of the art display before entering.

The Brampton Library reserves the right to refuse to display any items considered to be inappropriate and/or unsuitable in a library setting.

Artwork should be ready for hanging.

How long is artwork displayed🔽

Exhibits will be for a period of one month at the discretion of the library.

Permission for an individual or group to exhibit is generally for a single occurrence and does not imply the right to repeat exhibits.

Can I sell my artwork at the library?🔽

Artists are able to leave a pricelist at the information desk or supply a sign listing a contact person, website address and telephone number where visitors can inquire about purchasing information. Prices may not be attached to individual works.

Back to Top