• Culture Days 2019
    Culture Days 2019

    Culture Days Logo

    Events at the Library

    Culture Days, Canada's national celebration of arts and culture, celebrates its 10th anniversary in 2019! Everyone is invited to attend and enjoy the free activities that will take place in our library branches again this year.

    Culture Days offers Brampton's creative community a unique opportunity to display their talents and offers the public a wide range of interactive experiences. Examples of activities from previous years include dance, music, film, theatre, visual arts, writing and more. Artists and arts organizations who wish to be a part of Culture Days are invited to apply to participate in the free venues that Brampton Library offers in its branches.  

    Please note the following schedule in our library branches for 2019:

    • Friday, September 27- presentations by local schools at their nearest library branch.
    • Saturday, September 28 - visual artists showcase at Chinguacousy Branch Library only.
    • Sunday, September 29 - activities at all branches.

     

    In 2018, Brampton Library showcased 51 activities with over 1,560 people participating and appreciating cultural events. The City of Brampton, including the Library, was ranked in the top ten list of communities participating in Ontario.

    We look forward to celebrating Culture Days with you, right here in our Library branches:

    Call for Artists!

    Are you a member of the artistic community? Would you like to host a session at the Library during Culture Days? If so, please submit your application form.

    For further information contact:

    Catherine Carreiro

    ccarreiro@bramlib.on.ca 

    (905) 793-4636 ext.74220

    Surita Dey

    sdey@bramlib.on.ca

    (905) 793-4636 ext.74354

  • Book Sale
    Book Sale
  • BL Accessibility Survey
    BL Accessibility Survey
  • BL Accessibility Survey
    BL Accessibility Survey
  • One Book One Brampton 2019
    One Book One Brampton 2019

    The Saturday Night Ghost Club by Craig Davidson

     

    This short, infectious, and bittersweet coming-of-age story in the vein of Stranger Things and Stand by Me about a group of misfit kids who spend an unforgettable summer investigating local ghost stories and urban legends was a finalist for the 2018 Rogers Writers' Trust Fiction Prize.

    When neurosurgeon Jake Baker operates, he knows he's handling more than a patient's delicate brain tissue--he's altering the seat of consciousness, the golden vault of memory. And memory, Jake knows well, can be a tricky, quicksilver thing. Growing up in 1980s Niagara Falls, a.k.a. Cataract City---a seedy but magical, slightly haunted place---one of Jake's closest confidants was his uncle Calvin, a sweet but eccentric misfit enamored of occult artefacts and outlandish conspiracy theories. The summer Jake turned twelve, Calvin invited him to join the "Saturday Night Ghost Club"--a seemingly light-hearted project to investigate some of Cataract City's more macabre urban myths. Over the course of that life-altering summer, Jake not only met his lifelong best friend and began to imagine his own future, he came to realize that his uncle's preoccupation with chilling legends sprang from something so painful, and buried so deep, that Calvin himself was unaware of the source.

    All Things Consoled by Elizabeth Hay

     

    Jean and Gordon Hay were a colourful, formidable pair. Jean, a late-blooming artist with a marvellous sense of humour, was superlatively frugal; nothing got wasted, not even maggoty soup. Gordon was a proud and ambitious schoolteacher with a terrifying temper, a deep streak of melancholy, and a devotion to flowers, cars, words, and his wife. As old age collides with the tragedy of living too long, these once ferociously independent parents become increasingly dependent on Lizzie, the so-called difficult child. By looking after them in their final decline, she hopes to prove that she can be a good daughter after all.

    In this courageous memoir, written with tough-minded candour, tenderness, and wit, Elizabeth Hay lays bare the exquisite agony of a family's dynamics--entrenched favouritism, sibling rivalries, grievances that last for decades, genuine admiration, and enduring love. In the end, she reaches a more complete understanding of the most unforgettable characters she will ever know, the vivid giants in her life who were her parents."

    That Time I Loved You: Linked Storied

    by Carrianne Leung
     

    Tensions that have lurked beneath the surface of a shiny new subdivision rise up, in new fiction from the author of the Toronto Book Award—shortlisted The Wondrous Woo.


    The suburbs of the 1970s promised to be heaven on earth—new houses, new status, happiness guaranteed. But in a Scarborough subdivision populated by newcomers from all over the world, a series of sudden catastrophic events reveals that not everyone’s dreams come true. Moving from house to house, Carrianne Leung explores the inner lives behind the tidy front gardens and picture-perfect windows, always returning to June, an irrepressible adolescent Chinese-Canadian coming of age in this shifting world. Through June and her neighbours, Leung depicts the fine line where childhood meets the realities of adult life, and examines, with insight and sharp prose, how difficult it is to be true to ourselves at any age.

    Hum If You Don't Know The Words by Bianca Marais

     

    Hum If You Don't Know the Words is a heart-wrenching debut novel set in Johannesburg in the 1970s, a time of great upheaval and violence. It features a young white girl, Robin, whose parents have been killed, and a visiting Xhosa woman, Beauty, searching for her own daughter, who has disappeared in the Soweto uprisings. When Beauty is hired as a caretaker for Robin, they build a tentative bond despite the restrictions of apartheid.


    Told through Beauty and Robin's alternating perspectives, the two narratives interweave to create a rich and complex tapestry of emotions and tensions at the heart of Apartheid South Africa. This book is a beautifully rendered look at loss, racism, and the creation of family.  

    A Good Wife by Samra Zafar

     

    In A Good Wife Author Samra Zafar tells her own harrowing and inspiring story, from a young girl with big dreams, through finding strength in the face of oppression and then finally battling through to empowerment. She faced years of abuse after arriving in Canada as a teenage bride in a hastily arranged marriage, but nothing could stop her from pursuing her dreams

    At 15, Samra Zafar had big dreams for herself. She was going to go to university, and forge her own path. Then with almost no warning, those dreams were pulled away from her when she was suddenly married to a stranger at 17 and had to leave behind her family in Pakistan to move to Canada. Her new husband and his family promised the fulfillment of her dream, not a betrayal of it. But as the walls of their home slowly became a prison, Samra realized the promises were empty ones.

    Cast your vote below!

  • Brampton Library Community Galleries
    Brampton Library Community Galleries

    Brampton Library Community Galleries

    Brampton Library provides exhibit space to individuals or groups wishing to display works of art. This free exhibit space enables Library visitors to participate in the creative life of the community, and presents artists with a valued avenue for exhibiting their work.

    Interested in displaying your artwork at the library? Please review Brampton Library’s Policy on Displays and Exhibits and familiarize yourself with the Artist Release and Waiver Liability, as well as the Community Galleries FAQ.

    To submit your artwork, please complete the application form.

    For more information please contact Catherine Carreiro (ext. 74220) or Surita Dey (ext 74354) at (905) 793-4636 or email ccarreiro@bramlib.on.ca or sdey@bramlib.on.ca

Back to Top